Affirmation of Baptism

Today I was looking at our confirmation lessons and part of the lesson material is “baptism connection”. When the students at CTS and other Lutheran congregations are confirmed, they make a profrddion that they intend to continue the covenant that was made with them in holy baptism.

I am not sure how many students really know the five covenants and I am not sure how many students actually have any intention to live up to the covenants when they say: “I do, and I ask God to help and guide me”.

For those of you who are unaware of the five covenants, they are the following:

Live among God’s faithful people

Hear the word of God and share in the Lord’s supper

Proclaim the good news of God in Christ through word and deed

Serve all people, following the example of Jesus

Strive for justice and peace in all the earth

So, for a moment, I leaned back in my chair and closed my eyes. I dreamed of what the world would like if everyone who made that confession lived it out. What do you think our world would look like if we lived these 5 covenants out.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Theology

Leave a comment